• music

    Music Monday: I’m Your GPU

     

    I’ve been impatiently waiting for months for this soundtrack to hit streaming services. I don’t know why, it just makes me super happy and it’s the perfect soundtrack while I’m doing chores around the house. (‘Follow Me Into the Storm’ is another fave track.) Although, if you listen to closely to the lyrics, this song sounds like a slightly menacing love song from a smart house. Have I just been watching too much TV in quarantine? Possibly!

    What unconventional music do you listen to while cleaning the house? P.S. The Music Monday playlist is available on Spotify if you’re interested!

  • books

    Book review: ‘The Hunting Party’

    'The Hunting Party' by Lucy Foley

    I’m always a little leery of books that claim to be alike to other, mega-popular titles. I’ve seen so many blurbs claiming a book is “the next Gone Girl” or “perfect for fans of Agatha Christie”. And quite honestly, books rarely live up to that sort of fanfare. (Likely in part because that hype causes the reader to set their expectations far too high!)

    The Hunting Party has been marketed to fans of Christie, Tana French, and Ruth Ware–all authors I admire–so I tried to manage my expectations accordingly. But I’m pleased to say that for the most part, this is a top-notch thriller perfect for a cozy night in by the fire. Read on for spoilers, what I loved about the book, and the suspense trope I absolutely can’t stand. (It’s why this book didn’t score a perfect five stars!) P.S. make sure to follow me on Goodreads for more reviews and bookish updates!

  • books,  gifts,  Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge

    WWBC: best non-book gifts for readers

    Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge--best non-book gifts for readers

    *cracks knuckles* As a reader myself, and someone whose close friends are readers, I feel like I’ve become a bit of an expert on non-book gifts for bookworms. Don’t forget to link up and visit the other bloggers who are participating this week via Long and Short Reviews!

    I talked last week about how much I’m addicted to cozy stuff. I think all bookworms can agree that one of the best non-book gifts is one that helps you be extra-comfy while curled up with a new book! Slipper socks, candles, tea, etc. This is especially great if your bookworm lives somewhere cold and blustery and plans to be shut up inside reading to pass the time.

    I don’t know a single bookworm who would tell you they have too many bookmarks, or journals for filling with their favorite bookish quotes and reviews.

    Decor and apparel inspired by a bookworm’s favorite book is always a good bet, especially if they’re part of a diehard fandom!

    And let’s not forget about food! There’s nothing worse than having to set aside a five-star read to cook a meal. A basket of snacks and sweets will sustain your bookworm while they stay up past their bedtime to read “just one more chapter”.

    What are your favorite non-book gifts to give (or get)?
  • books,  spring,  Top Ten Tuesday

    Top Ten Tuesday: spring cleaning freebie

    Top Ten Tuesday: spring cleaning freebieTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog hop hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl–don’t forget to link up and check out the other participating bloggers every Tuesday!

    This week is a spring cleaning freebie, so I thought  I’d share about a few of the books I’ve cleaned off my TBR recently. (I still have over 1400 books on this list, but hey, this is a start!)

    These are books I’m finally reading after many many years, books I stopped reading and finally moved to my DNF shelf, or books I added to my TBR years ago and just realized I no longer had an interest in reading at all. So, let’s dive in!