• books

    Book review: ‘The Hunting Party’

    'The Hunting Party' by Lucy Foley

    I’m always a little leery of books that claim to be alike to other, mega-popular titles. I’ve seen so many blurbs claiming a book is “the next Gone Girl” or “perfect for fans of Agatha Christie”. And quite honestly, books rarely live up to that sort of fanfare. (Likely in part because that hype causes the reader to set their expectations far too high!)

    The Hunting Party has been marketed to fans of Christie, Tana French, and Ruth Ware–all authors I admire–so I tried to manage my expectations accordingly. But I’m pleased to say that for the most part, this is a top-notch thriller perfect for a cozy night in by the fire. Read on for spoilers, what I loved about the book, and the suspense trope I absolutely can’t stand. (It’s why this book didn’t score a perfect five stars!) P.S. make sure to follow me on Goodreads for more reviews and bookish updates!

  • books,  gifts,  Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge

    WWBC: best non-book gifts for readers

    Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge--best non-book gifts for readers

    *cracks knuckles* As a reader myself, and someone whose close friends are readers, I feel like I’ve become a bit of an expert on non-book gifts for bookworms. Don’t forget to link up and visit the other bloggers who are participating this week via Long and Short Reviews!

    I talked last week about how much I’m addicted to cozy stuff. I think all bookworms can agree that one of the best non-book gifts is one that helps you be extra-comfy while curled up with a new book! Slipper socks, candles, tea, etc. This is especially great if your bookworm lives somewhere cold and blustery and plans to be shut up inside reading to pass the time.

    I don’t know a single bookworm who would tell you they have too many bookmarks, or journals for filling with their favorite bookish quotes and reviews.

    Decor and apparel inspired by a bookworm’s favorite book is always a good bet, especially if they’re part of a diehard fandom!

    And let’s not forget about food! There’s nothing worse than having to set aside a five-star read to cook a meal. A basket of snacks and sweets will sustain your bookworm while they stay up past their bedtime to read “just one more chapter”.

    What are your favorite non-book gifts to give (or get)?
  • books,  spring,  Top Ten Tuesday

    Top Ten Tuesday: spring cleaning freebie

    Top Ten Tuesday: spring cleaning freebieTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog hop hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl–don’t forget to link up and check out the other participating bloggers every Tuesday!

    This week is a spring cleaning freebie, so I thought  I’d share about a few of the books I’ve cleaned off my TBR recently. (I still have over 1400 books on this list, but hey, this is a start!)

    These are books I’m finally reading after many many years, books I stopped reading and finally moved to my DNF shelf, or books I added to my TBR years ago and just realized I no longer had an interest in reading at all. So, let’s dive in!

  • Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge

    Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge: my greatest weakness

    Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge--my greatest weakness

    I found this weekly blogging challenge online and thought it would be fun to join in throughout the year, in order to get on a more consistent blogging schedule! The Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge is a blog hop hosted by Long and Short Reviews and you can find all of the prompts for the hop here.

    This week’s topic is ‘my greatest weakness’, which for some reason gave me pause. You’d think it would be such an easy question, right?! But honestly, I don’t know how to answer it right now. None of the usual vices fit. I’ve mostly quit drinking alcohol during the past six months. My diet has changed a lot too, as I’ve had to get stricter with myself due to food intolerances. I can no longer eat all the sugar or pasta that I want. And since I took a massive pay cut this winter I had to cut off all my excess spending.

    So, what then? It’s a little intangible and hard to sum up, but I guess my greatest weakness currently is “coziness”. It’s kind of always been that way but the pandemic has intensified it. Basically I mean super soft blankets, cute pajamas, scented candles, fun snacks…anything you would want in a grown-up blanket fort! The more cuddly and comfy the better.

    Also, if I have a choice between a non-cozy thing like going shopping, or to dinner (remember restaurants?!), or really anything that involves leaving the house; or a cozy activity like snuggling up under a fluffy blanket with a book, or soaking in a hot bath, or making a charcuterie board and lying in bed watching Netflix for hours–it’s almost impossible to pry me out of my cocoon.

    I know a big part of that is the fact that it’s still winter here in the PNW, but even in the summertime, in the good ol’ pre-pandemic days of mingling in crowds, I always preferred to do comfortable homebody stuff to anything else. The older I get the more I value sweatpants, simple food, and casual activities at home with my loved ones. It’s all about life, liberty, and the pursuit of coziness!

    What’s your greatest weakness? Has it changed since the pandemic started a year ago?